Today, I realize…

Today I realize, I wanted to be married to a good man.

During my blooming years, I had one thought in mind. I had one big standard. He-must-be-a-Christian.

Nothing has changed but something was added and surprisingly, it is now on the top list.

I still want my future husband to be a Christian as I myself is a Christian. I have always wanted to have someone who will constantly pray for me. I always pray to be with someone close to God, that whenever he prays, he mentions me to Him and whenever he is mad at me, I know that he rants to God about me and not to other people. I still want him to be more in love with the Lord than he is in love with me because I am still certain that, that’s the best way to give love.

But something was added.
I pray to marry a good man. A good man not just to me but to other people, not just to me but to my family, not just to me but also to his ageing parents. Someone whose heart never grows weary in doing good.
I am imagining him opening the door of the cafe for me and also for the old lady behind me.
I am imagining him buying me food and also treating my family out for dinner.
I am imagining him respecting me in arguments and also being respectful to his parents even when they already have different opinions.

My point is, there are a lot of good looking, rich and God-fearing christian and non-christian men out there, but for me what sets them apart is the kind of person they are, in and out. What kind of a person they are when mad, when jammed in a traffic, when hungry and when no one is looking.

I am not praying for a perfect man because they surely don’t exist. But a good man, they do.

Leave a comment